Saturday, December 31, 2011

Blog Shifted!!

Hi all!!!

So if you have not already checked out the new site here, please do.....I am done with the updation of the site.... :-)....I hope to see you all there....and please do subscribe to the RSS and if not too much could share it in your social networking pages too...

Thanks all!!

Best Regards,

IndianMusicFan :-D

Friday, December 30, 2011

Raga Ranjani Part 1

The next raga we will see about is ranjanI. It is one of my favorite raga though not so favored by few of my friends :-) . The name ranjani is supposed to mean ‘one who gives happiness’. The raga can give different flavors depending on its handling which we will see about in this post. It is specific to carnatic music and an equivalent scale is not found in hindustani (to my knowledge).The (popular) scale of ranjanI is as given below along with western notes with C as Sa.
Arohanam:        S   R2   G2   M2   D2   S’ ……. (C  D   D#   F#   A  C’)

Avarohanam:   S’  N3   D2   M2   G2   S ……. (C’  B   A    F#  D#   C)

but the avarohanam can also come as

S’  N3  D2  M2  G2  S  R2 S .. (C’  B   A   F#   D#   C  D  C) [footnote]

Some of the first things one can notice are
1. The scale has only 5 notes in the arohanam and avarohanam. This hence is a pentatonic scale (having only 5 notes per octave). So this is NOT a melakartha raga or sampoorna raga about which we had seen in the cArukEsi  raga post. Such a raga where the scale is not complete is called a Janya raga. We will see about this in the subsequent section.

Continue reading here

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Learning About Indian Music : Raga Charukesi

The next raga we will see is one of my very favourite, chArukEsi and thankfully for me it has the same name in both Carnatic and Hindustani ;-) . It is also a sampoorna raga without vakra swaras. So, first what is a sampoorna raga? And what are vakra swaras?